The Other Side of Silence

“If we had a keen vision of all that is ordinary in human life, it would be like hearing the grass grow or the squirrel’s heart beat, and we should die of that roar which is the other side of silence.”
George Eliot writes about “the other side of silence,” and I’m still trying to figure out what she means. Maybe it’s like when I sit in our backyard in search of peace and quiet, and the longer I sit, the louder the backyard becomes. I take it for granted that the forest is teeming with life and that “roar” is louder than I can hear or even imagine. As I pay more attention to the “ordinary” animals, I get a little bit closer to understanding the other side of silence. Here is my drawing of a squirrel, the most ordinary animal in our backyard.

20120410-082651.jpg

About Outdoorsies

Welcome to Outdoorsies. We are sisters who have always loved the outdoors. Our blog will highlight outdoors sports, events, findings, photographs, kids activities, clothing and gear and all things relating to the beautiful world outside the window. Let your kid out!

Leave a Reply

