Sweet Summer Memories

Sour Patch Kids spill into Chiclet cul-de-sacs

Big League chewing, Jawbreaker chomping, Gobstopping Goonies

Gather, Jolly Rancher, riding bikes, Popping Rocks

Push Pops rotting my Candy Necklace teeth

Boys and girls, Mikes & Ikes, Nerds and Pixy Stix

Flock to Bubble Gum theaters for a Shock Tart summer flick

Sweetarts kissing, Sixlets whispering, Grapeheads giggling

Popcorn popping, rolling Bottle Caps down the aisles

Lemonheads break curfews sucking Candy Cigarettes

Fun Dips, Slap Stix in the public swimming pool

Mega Double Lollie sunburns, Laffy Taffy sleepovers

Atomic Fireballs lighting up the starry nights

Before and after, Now & Later, I wait for summer

Like a kid at the door of a local candy store

Image

Lil C at a local candy store. Photo by my Mr. John

About Outdoorsies

Welcome to Outdoorsies. We are sisters who have always loved the outdoors. Our blog will highlight outdoors sports, events, findings, photographs, kids activities, clothing and gear and all things relating to the beautiful world outside the window. Let your kid out!

6 responses to “Sweet Summer Memories

  1. I love this peom. It totally brought me back to my own childhood!

  2. Yeah me too! I ate so much candy when i was a kid. Now I eat very healthy, but I still allow for treats on occasion.

  3. I’m the same way! Although, I still love a dark chocolate treat.

  4. Sortland

    Love this. Just read it to bandmate Brian for lyrical inspiration. He loved it.

Leave a Reply

