A Lesson in Oils

I recently had the rare opportunity to take a lesson from someone I consider to be a master in his craft: Wayne McKenzie.
This painting is from my first lesson in working with oils as a medium, and I was so inspired that I went out and bought the materials to continue my practice. We started the lesson by both working from the same photo of Lil C on separate canvases. I learned as much from watching Wayne’s technique as I did from painting my own version of the photo. Then at one point, we even switched canvases for a bit. So, the painting that follows of Lil C is an amalgamation of several swipes of paint from my own brush with many masterful strokes and suggestions from Wayne.
Here are the tips I learned:
1. When beginning, use fewer colors. Wayne suggested starting with three colors, plus white, so I don’t get caught up in too many options.
2. Start small, meaning a small canvas. I have two huge canvases that I bought on sale about two years ago. They still sit there in the garage, waiting for me to get up the courage.
3. My painting doesn’t have to be exactly like the original photo, In fact, it’s better if it isn’t. In other words, be more creative with my creativity.
Thanks for the lesson and inspiration, Wayne!
photo-19
About Outdoorsies

Welcome to Outdoorsies. We are sisters who have always loved the outdoors. Our blog will highlight outdoors sports, events, findings, photographs, kids activities, clothing and gear and all things relating to the beautiful world outside the window. Let your kid out!

Leave a Reply

